Splash DamageBlogInvasion of the Brink Hands-on Previews

Splash Damage Blog

Invasion of the Brink Hands-on Previews


Journalists from around the world recently got to spend some hands-on time with Brink, including character customisation and a healthy helping of cooperative action in a few of the Ark's environments. The resulting write-ups have just started to hit the internet, and there's a lot of material for you to sink your teeth into. You can find the first wave of thoughts and musings below:

In addition, Game Director Paul 'Locki' Wedgwood, Creative Director Richard 'Rahdo' Ham, Media Director Richard 'Fluffy_gIMp' Jolly, and Lead Writer Ed Stern were all on hand to answer burning questions.

If you spot any other new Brink goodness, please give us a shout in the comments.

43 Comments

You're able to customize your character? :D I know, snarky - but it's Monday, so... In seriousness, looking forward to reading up on these when I get a chance. Here's hoping for something new!
Posted on 28 February, 2011 - 19:27
Another one for you badman :) http://www.gamingtruth.com/2011/02/28/brink-the-last-online-shooter-youll-need/ It mentions a new engie ability called “Gear Head” which increases the speed in which you build and repair turrets.
Posted on 28 February, 2011 - 19:40
IGN also had a preview. I was just looking thru their new pictures. I really hope that that the pre-order packs will be available somehow after launch. I mean... one can't collect them all. Anyway. Where will Psycho be in UK? I think I can order from UK if it is a retailer that sends games outside.
Posted on 28 February, 2011 - 19:48
In addition, Game Director Paul 'Locki' Wedgwood, Creative Director Richard 'Rahdo' Ham, Media Director Richard 'Fluffy_gIMp' Jolly, and Lead Writer Ed Stern were all on hand to answer burning questions.
Ed Stern should get himself a nickname :wink:
Posted on 28 February, 2011 - 20:37
why, you don't like "Bongoboy" ?
Posted on 28 February, 2011 - 20:38
Maybe hes pointing out, they didn't include his actual nickname :wink:
Posted on 28 February, 2011 - 20:45
I have read a few of these previews, and the game seems to be shaping up, my biggest fear still hasn't been put to rest and that is how is the gun play is it COD Hardcore where a few rounds can kill you easily or is it more like TF2 where it takes clip after chip or rocket, i lean more to the hardcore route there needs to be a balance, im hoping that's where the body sizes come in to play and mobility isn't the only reason for the option. I would like to add i really dislike TF2 just so you know where my bias is rooted.
Posted on 28 February, 2011 - 22:27
It's mid-way W:ET style, it takes more than 2 bullets, but you can easily fell 3/4 enemies with a full clip if your aim is up to scratch and you can get the headshots in. There's obviously more dynamics to it than that when bodytype, weapon and buffs (health/weapon) come into play.
Posted on 28 February, 2011 - 22:31
it's like Wolfenstein:Enemy Territory, and Enemy Territory:Quake Wars, but nothing like CoD
Posted on 28 February, 2011 - 22:32
it's like Wolfenstein:Enemy Territory, and Enemy Territory:Quake Wars, but nothing like CoD
i really hope that you are right
Posted on 28 February, 2011 - 23:14
It's mid-way W:ET style, it takes more than 2 bullets, but you can easily fell 3/4 enemies with a full clip if your aim is up to scratch and you can get the headshots in. There's obviously more dynamics to it than that when bodytype, weapon and buffs (health/weapon) come into play.
Was your headshot comment directed at ET because as far as I know Brink doesn't have a headshot system, or if hitting enemies will do extra damage in any special places.
Posted on 28 February, 2011 - 23:31
Was your headshot comment directed at ET because as far as I know Brink doesn't have a headshot system, or if hitting enemies will do extra damage in any special places.
Horse compendium: - Based off feedback from someone who played Brink, it appears there are 3 damage locators - headshots do the most damage, followed by body shots, and shooting in the legs do the least.
Posted on 28 February, 2011 - 23:33
Brink does indeed have headshots. Most damage to the head, mid damage to the body and little to the legs.
Posted on 28 February, 2011 - 23:34
If the gun you are using has high damage, buffed by engineer while using piercing ammo.... it might be possible to kill the target. I could be wrong about this.
Posted on 28 February, 2011 - 23:35
If it's got none of that, it's still possible to kill the target... what's your point? :tongue:
Posted on 28 February, 2011 - 23:36
Was your headshot comment directed at ET because as far as I know Brink doesn't have a headshot system, or if hitting enemies will do extra damage in any special places.
there isn't "1 shot kill headshoot" in brink, but there are still headshoots. and yes, as far as i know shooting someone on the head will deal more damage than shooting him in the leg EDIT: damn i'm slow to write
Posted on 28 February, 2011 - 23:41
that to have your gun buffed while using armour piercing ammo with specific guns just to be able to 1 burst kill.... is sort of rare to happen, due to the amount of classes involved and a small list of weapons able to shoot long range accurately with a relative high base damage to replenish the enemy's health in 1 burst or shot :D my point is.... it's very unlikely to happen to often kill people with 1 burst or 1 shot
Posted on 28 February, 2011 - 23:45
there isn't "1 shot kill headshoot" in brink, but there are still headshoots. and yes, as far as i know shooting someone on the head will deal more damage than shooting him in the leg EDIT: damn i'm slow to write
Ah okay, it was the no 1hko headshots thing i was thinking of. :)
Posted on 28 February, 2011 - 23:57
I hope the HS modifiers are really high, not CoD style. A german preview talks about balancing issues.
Less we liked the balancing. On the the palyable maps ther is a leaning to some weapon (-types). To compensate for that the powerfull weapons like for example the gatling have to be nerfed, for example with less ammo count. Same goes for the health points. Allthough you can kill the enemy pretty fast with well placed shots from the right weapon but with the automatic weapons you often have to fire one or two clips to take the enemy down. Together with the autoheal after a couple of seconds that feels too unbalanced. ... We like this, this and that, only the balancing needs work, there are still weapon-types that are too strong and you have too much health points.
Source: PC Games Brink Hands-On
Posted on 1 March, 2011 - 08:01
I wonder what build of the game they were playing on to come to that conclusion. Hopefully an older one, since we know they've been playing with balance for a while now.
Posted on 1 March, 2011 - 09:49
I don't think there are many casual gamers that really appreciate balance, they want to shoot stuff, hear loud cracks of gunfire and watch it go down quick... earning a kill seems like hard work to quite a few people these days, therefore if it's not quick = it's not balanced apparently.
Posted on 1 March, 2011 - 11:30
It's not simply a "too much bullets to kill" complaint allthough 1-2 full clips sounds like the guy just sucks and don't know how to play. By the way, Pc Games is the biggest german print magazin for pc games.
Posted on 1 March, 2011 - 11:35
That is amazing news, I don't want a other game where 1 burst kills people. If people are complaining it takes too much to kill, I am glad.
Posted on 1 March, 2011 - 12:13
yeah sounds like it wont be COD style kills, where first see wins most of the time, and will (hopefull) lean more towards an ETQW style
Posted on 1 March, 2011 - 12:18
That screen looks like its from a techno rave party. Nice.
Posted on 1 March, 2011 - 14:25
PLUR & semi-automatic gunfire. :wink:
Posted on 1 March, 2011 - 14:49
Hopefully SD didn't cheat as DICE in BFBC2 with automatic fire, where only half of the bullets do damage, the rest are just noise to ease up the network load.
Posted on 1 March, 2011 - 15:01
Digital Spy preview: http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/gaming/news/a306362/preview-brink.html
In essence, there is very little difference in the way the two sides play control-wise, but the difference comes with the extras. The Resistance use the game's parkour elements much more, such as sliding into cover and jumping between obstacles.
:asymmetrical-confused-face:
Posted on 1 March, 2011 - 15:57
A round of journalistic inaccuracy for everyone! =_=
Posted on 1 March, 2011 - 16:13
Makes me think. How hard can it be to start to become a journalist and ask the right questions ourselves? I mean, all it takes is an online blog or magazine right? What questions do we want to hear answered?
Posted on 1 March, 2011 - 16:35
It's not simply a "too much bullets to kill" complaint allthough 1-2 full clips sounds like the guy just sucks and don't know how to play. By the way, Pc Games is the biggest german print magazin for pc games.
not true. Gamestar is the biggest/most popular print magazin dedicated to pc games. and they didnt complain about the balance, they were just dissappointed to play with and against bots instead of real 8v8 multiplayer. other than that they were very positive. from all the previews I read, PC games was the only site/magazin that complained about balance issues... I think they just have a different point of view of how many bullets an enemy should survive.
Posted on 1 March, 2011 - 18:45
Thought PC Games sells better than Gamestar, the really sad part is that they get outsaled by the Computer Bild Spiele big time.
Posted on 1 March, 2011 - 20:02
"SEC Town is a visually impressive map, set at an orange-red dusk. The map features a wide, winding, shallow river that cuts vertically through some of the map. As a member of the Resistance, it was my job to ensure that our slow-moving bot moved through river to the other side. I took advantage of the many low-hanging bridges that ran horizontally over the river." From http://www.gamingtruth.com/2011/02/28/brink-the-last-online-shooter-youll-need/ A river! A river in a Splash Damage game! All the ET memories made me smile like an idiot, although I really couldn't have guessed that specifically the river would have that effect on me. "Rather than the Battlefield-inspired landscapes of Splash Damage's last project, Enemy Territory: Quake Wars, Brink's maps more often resemble the close-quarters claustrophobia of their first game, the critically-acclaimed Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory. With Brink, Splash Damage is taking the intensity and variety that made them famous, and doing its best to repackage it with more than a little charm." From http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2011-02-28-brink-hands-on Awesome.
Posted on 1 March, 2011 - 23:22
Thanks for prospecting all that junk for something genuinely new. Welcome to the forums and have some reptutation!
Posted on 1 March, 2011 - 23:23
There were two other quotes I really liked When we were actually locked in a firefight, the action didn't feel far removed from the developer's pedigree. Skirmishes weren't accented by the quick, one-hit kills found in other first-person shooters, such as the Modern Warfare series. Instead, they were battles of attrition, with each class aiding others with health, ammo, turrets, and whatever it was the operative does. Each character had a decent amount of health, making it much less punishing when we stumbled out into enemy crossfire. http://uk.gamespot.com/pc/action/brink/news.html?sid=6301156 Indeed, as the matches wore on, it felt more and more like wave after wave of opposition was responding to our attack and working on ways to find and stop us. The constant respawning gave the battles a D-Day at Normandy quality, in which you would rush to a spot to take part in a push, only to be cut down and respawn. Both teams felt like larger armies, and were often simply relentless. http://www.gamefront.com/brink-multiplayer-hands-on-preview/
Posted on 2 March, 2011 - 00:58
There were two other quotes I really liked When we were actually locked in a firefight, the action didn't feel far removed from the developer's pedigree. Skirmishes weren't accented by the quick, one-hit kills found in other first-person shooters, such as the Modern Warfare series. Instead, they were battles of attrition, with each class aiding others with health, ammo, turrets, and whatever it was the operative does. Each character had a decent amount of health, making it much less punishing when we stumbled out into enemy crossfire. http://uk.gamespot.com/pc/action/brink/news.html?sid=6301156 Indeed, as the matches wore on, it felt more and more like wave after wave of opposition was responding to our attack and working on ways to find and stop us. The constant respawning gave the battles a D-Day at Normandy quality, in which you would rush to a spot to take part in a push, only to be cut down and respawn. Both teams felt like larger armies, and were often simply relentless. http://www.gamefront.com/brink-multiplayer-hands-on-preview/
Thanks so much for sifting through. To be honest i couldn't be bothered after the first three.
Posted on 2 March, 2011 - 01:37
that to have your gun buffed while using armour piercing ammo with specific guns just to be able to 1 burst kill.... is sort of rare to happen, due to the amount of classes involved and a small list of weapons able to shoot long range accurately with a relative high base damage to replenish the enemy's health in 1 burst or shot :D my point is.... it's very unlikely to happen to often kill people with 1 burst or 1 shot
lol, there's a heall of a difference between a burst and a shot, You can empty your whole magazine in one burst, if that doesn't kill the guy then you are probably drunk.
Posted on 2 March, 2011 - 03:47
Makes me think. How hard can it be to start to become a journalist and ask the right questions ourselves? I mean, all it takes is an online blog or magazine right? What questions do we want to hear answered?
Just pick 30 or so and throw them at them and see which ones they answer :)
Posted on 2 March, 2011 - 03:50
this game needs to come out with a demo
Posted on 2 March, 2011 - 19:19
It takes about 5-6 bullets to kill someone from what I have heard Which is perfectly fine :)
Posted on 4 March, 2011 - 01:30
It takes about 5-6 bullets to kill someone from what I have heard Which is perfectly fine :)
Where did you hear this? Do you a link to a first-hand account of this?
Posted on 6 March, 2011 - 18:49
Dude I sorry I have not checked this site in ages I originally heard this somwhere else but cannot remember but this is a more recent Article http://www.fragworld.org/frag/brink/brink-compendium-update-2.html Its on the Weapons Tab Hope this helps :)
Posted on 9 May, 2011 - 23:30