Splash DamageBlogNew Brink Previews and Interviews Escape From Press Event (Updated)

Splash Damage Blog

New Brink Previews and Interviews Escape From Press Event (Updated)


Narrowly avoiding last month's Volcanopalypse, we recently showed the latest version of Brink to journalists from all over Europe at a Bethesda press event. We revealed a few new things there, including previously unseen environments and a few other bits and pieces. The resulting previews and impressions are just now starting to appear online, garnished with all-new screenshots. Here's a list of the write-ups we've come across so far:

We also pushed a few of our team members in front of various microphones and cameras to answer whatever questions were being thrown their way. Here are the interviews that have surfaced so far:

We'll be updating this post with new previews and interviews as they come in, so keep checking back for more!

26 Comments

Ed Stern: Yeah. I mean certainly if you think of it purely as a solo game and you’re not going to replay any of it and you only play through both of the storylines, you’re looking at about ten hours plus of gameplay.
That's... a shame, if you play ETQW through both sides at least once you're already getting a maximum of 8 hours of gameplay. The past few remarks made me belief that the 'singleplayer' (and therefore the multiplayer exponentially) would be longer than that.
Posted on 4 May, 2010 - 19:13
Pretty standard for FPS games though.
Posted on 4 May, 2010 - 20:01
Well half the standard for the number of FPS singleplayer maps. Maybe I was just expecting too much, gleefully calculating 'normal fps game x 2'.
Posted on 4 May, 2010 - 20:07
Its fairly comparable to traditional singleplayer FPSs. While on a low spec computer I've been using Steam to catch up on old games. I completed Far Cry in 15, Max Payne in 10 and Red Faction in 8 hours.
Posted on 4 May, 2010 - 20:24
In those games they didn't let you turn around and walk all the way back through the campaign.
Posted on 4 May, 2010 - 20:30
Actually I think Red Faction very nearly did.
Posted on 4 May, 2010 - 20:45
Metroid let you walk each corridor at least four times, sure.
Posted on 4 May, 2010 - 20:52
ugh pleas do not talk about unclean kiddiekubes on our noble PC GAMING fourm
Posted on 4 May, 2010 - 20:57
ugh pleas do not talk about unclean kiddiekubes on our noble PC GAMING fourm
Nice trolling here.
Posted on 4 May, 2010 - 21:19
Chris will float down and suck his brains out soon enough.
Posted on 4 May, 2010 - 21:56
Nice trolling here.
On the other hand, he was just being satirical. In the future, please use the Report Post function rather than busting out your armchair moderator hat. :)
Posted on 4 May, 2010 - 22:22
On the other hand, he was just being satirical. In the future, please use the Report Post function rather than busting out your armchair moderator hat. :)
As a proud armchair moderator hat-wearer, I take great offense and have now reported this post. :magicpony:
Posted on 4 May, 2010 - 22:32
Thanks for the heads-up, badman! You 'da man! :cool:
Posted on 4 May, 2010 - 23:34
Where can I apply for an armchair moderator position :)?
Posted on 5 May, 2010 - 05:49
Liking the new areas, good to see something else from rusty containers.
Posted on 5 May, 2010 - 12:45
The Metroid Prime titiles weren't FPS games really, although Corruption was pretty close to one having far less exploration and adventure than the previous two titles, was still awesome though. Shame no other devs have tried to use similar control methods (expert settings) to make a proper FPS though, would be pretty amazing. Erm yeah, the comments on the various articals make for entertaining lunch time reading... :)
Posted on 5 May, 2010 - 12:55
Thanks for the links, with N4G down and being rebuilt it is harder to find links to articles right now. Time for another round of Brink email to my friends. :)
Posted on 5 May, 2010 - 13:49
It's exciting to read about some new gameplay mechanics for the Operative. It's refreshing to read about so many interesting ideas going into this game. I play BFBC2 and it's good looking and kind of fun but it's like playing checkers. Heck, even Battlefield: Heroes has more strategy. The SD games so far feel like a chess game and are much more satisfying. I played an ETQW campaign the other week which was still far more exciting than ANY round of BFBC2. I'm always on the lookout for new tidbits of info and after the Brink videos things got quiet again. I'm sure it's crunch time at SD and maybe Bethesda wants to ramp up excitement much closer to launch time?
Posted on 5 May, 2010 - 14:59
Italian gamingsite Multiplayer.it have also published a Brink Preview in case you've missed it. English version (translated) Italian version (original)
Posted on 5 May, 2010 - 20:46
yes its slow, and yes its aimed for noodles! but indeed its the revolution in fps gaming...
Posted on 7 May, 2010 - 01:16
The new previews are great. A few bits of info I didn't know yet. And they have gloves!
Posted on 7 May, 2010 - 05:29
yes its slow, and yes its aimed for noodles! but indeed its the revolution in fps gaming...
Troll is hungry... Nom nom nom!!! :stroggbanana:
Posted on 7 May, 2010 - 08:06
yes its slow, and yes its aimed for noodles! but indeed its the revolution in fps gaming...
Just because its not fast paced like quake 3 cpma, doesn't mean its a noobish game. If its a deep game which rewards smart play over pure dm, both new and experienced players can enjoy it.
Posted on 7 May, 2010 - 12:48
Yes, the classic arcade fps has already been made, imo. Quake and UT define that genre. It was awesome but so is the era of gaming we're in, now. latest press demo sounds excellent, of course.
Posted on 7 May, 2010 - 22:53
New preview, this time you can find it over at IncGamers, http://www.incgamers.com/Previews/189/brink-preview
Posted on 8 May, 2010 - 09:53