Splash DamageBlogFirst-ever Brink Hands-on Previews Hit European Magazines

Splash Damage Blog

First-ever Brink Hands-on Previews Hit European Magazines

A few weeks ago, Bethesda and Splash Damage invited several journalists up to our offices to come see Brink and, for the first time ever, actually get some hands-on time with the game. We also showed them a brand-new environment - the Ark's Shipyard pelgo. The journos have since written up their thoughts and impressions, and these can now be found in a whole batch of magazines all over Europe. There's also a healthy dose of new screenshots showing off Shipyard.

Here's a breakdown of the magazines that, at the time of writing, are offering up Brink goodness:

Germany

» PC Action
» Play3

France

» PC Jeux
» Joystick
» Xbox 360 - The Official Magazine
» PlayStation - Official Magazine

Benelux

» Power Unlimited

Spain

» Hobbyconsolas

More coverage is set to hit hit within the next few weeks, so keep checking back for the latest.

If you've managed to get your hands on one of these features, let us know what you think in the comments!

23 Comments

Definitely fetching a Power Unlimited, those baklappen haven't said a word about Brink yet.
Posted on 18 January, 2010 - 18:23
What's baklappen? :) I guess I'll have a look at the PC Action or I'll wait for the PC Games review (the last issue where Brink was featured was a good read). PS: Is it only me or does the quote not recognise an icon / character? It says » before every item. :confused:
Posted on 18 January, 2010 - 19:35
PS: Is it only me or does the quote not recognise an icon / character? It says » before every item. :confused:
Same here. Waiting on some scans to emerge or to appear on some websites though for them new shots!
Posted on 18 January, 2010 - 19:39
Could you give Gamer.no, or possibly Gamereactor (Norwegian version) if it has to be a magazine, some hands-on in the near future too? *Wink, wink*
Posted on 18 January, 2010 - 20:13
Screw the magazines, can I have a hands on? :D
Posted on 18 January, 2010 - 20:17
Screw the magazines, can I have a hands on? :D
lol, was thinking the same thing.
Posted on 18 January, 2010 - 22:17
Are these magazines allowed to release video?
Posted on 19 January, 2010 - 00:46
Thanks for the heads-up on the previews. I am part of a small community of gamers and am kind of carrying the banner of anticipation for this game, showcasing the various videos and interviews from around the web. The only criticism that I hear over and over again, is that the guns bobble too much when the player moves. I understand the desire to exaggerate movement as part of the art style, but the entirety of my community is hoping Splash Damage smooths that out a bit. For reference, we all play a lot of Modern Warfare, Left4Dead, and Gears of War IPs. The art design of Brink is what drew me to it, but it is the gameplay and the multiplayer features that have me anticipating this game more than any other in 2010. Can't wait! :stroggtapir: Looking forward to reading the previews!
Posted on 19 January, 2010 - 05:51
The only criticism that I hear over and over again, is that the guns bobble too much when the player moves. I understand the desire to exaggerate movement as part of the art style, but the entirety of my community is hoping Splash Damage smooths that out a bit. For reference, we all play a lot of Modern Warfare, Left4Dead, and Gears of War IPs.
They indeed worked with exaggerated effects in the demos, motion blur for example was exaggerated as well.
Posted on 19 January, 2010 - 10:39
the guns bobble too much when the player moves
This was resolved in advance of the hands-on previews at Splash Damage.
Posted on 19 January, 2010 - 12:24
My issue of PC Format (UK) arrived late last Friday - Awesome front cover ;) And my copy of OPM (UK) arrived this week with a great Brink preview.
Posted on 19 January, 2010 - 12:28
Hands on preview, eh? That's very encouraging in terms of overall development. I'm going to have to start haunting IRC again to listen in on juicy development tidbits!
Posted on 19 January, 2010 - 16:27
This was resolved in advance of the hands-on previews at Splash Damage.
Your post is awesome for two reasons: 1) problem solved and 2) Splash Damage is listening. I won't take advantage of your generous ears, but know that your listening and replying is appreciated more than you can ever imagine. Thank you, Locki! :cool:
Posted on 19 January, 2010 - 21:21
God I love SD. :D And I really hope I can see more pictures of the offices too.
Posted on 19 January, 2010 - 22:24
I don't have access to any of the European magazines, but I would love to know what the previews were like. Please, for those who have the articles, any tidbits would be greatly appreciated!
Posted on 26 January, 2010 - 00:42
I don't have access to any of the European magazines, but I would love to know what the previews were like. Please, for those who have the articles, any tidbits would be greatly appreciated!
Did you see DarkangelUK's post? It's the only review of the previews so far as far as I know.
Posted on 26 January, 2010 - 11:15
Did you see DarkangelUK's post? It's the only review of the previews so far as far as I know.
Thanks for the heads-up! I am just settling in here and have a lot of catching up to do. Good stuff!
Posted on 27 January, 2010 - 01:14
Just had a look at the german PC Games preview. Sadly there isn't really anything new revealed. Except a a comment under a picture saying that if you use SMART manually you don't have to holster your weapon. There's a video on DVD as well but I didn't see that yet. I like the conclusion of the review, though:
Zugegeben, wenn man hrt was Splash Damage so alles unter einen einzelnen Spielehut kriegen will, drngt sich zuallererst die Frage auf: "Sind die denn wahnsinnig?" Und ein kleines bischen sind die Entwickler das sicher. Da aber Genie und Wahnsinn nahe beisammen liegen, wrde es mich nicht wundern, wenn Brink am Ende des Tages tatschlich funktioniert. Ich drcke jedenfalls die Daumen.
Which roughly translates to: Admittedly, the first question coming to my mind after hearing what Splash Damage wants to put into the game is "Are they crazy?". They are a bit crazy that's for sure. But then genius and madness are closely connected so I don't doubt at all that at the end of the day Brink may actually work. I keep my fingers crossed.
Posted on 2 February, 2010 - 11:29
Just had a look at the german PC Games preview. Sadly there isn't really anything new revealed. Except a a comment under a picture saying that if you use SMART manually you don't have to holster your weapon. There's a video on DVD as well but I didn't see that yet.
It's in the videos already.
Posted on 2 February, 2010 - 14:20
I don't suppose there is anyway we, who don't have the magazine, could get to see the video. Hmm.... Also, darthmob, is the author of that article talking about stuff that SD has shared with them that we don't know about yet? While I think SMART is very cool and the game is gonna be awesome, what SD has talked about and shown so far, isn't a "crazy" amount of stuff. Should we be expecting some big feature announcements?
Posted on 3 February, 2010 - 05:02
It's in the videos already.
It is? I don't remember it being mentioned. The only advantage I knew of was that manual jumping / sliding / vaulting can be slightly faster.
I don't suppose there is anyway we, who don't have the magazine, could get to see the video. Hmm.... Also, darthmob, is the author of that article talking about stuff that SD has shared with them that we don't know about yet? While I think SMART is very cool and the game is gonna be awesome, what SD has talked about and shown so far, isn't a "crazy" amount of stuff. Should we be expecting some big feature announcements?
There are three videos showing gameplay on Container City on the forums and one showing the SMART system. The video included with the Pc Games is a dubbed interview (typical for Germany -_-') with Rahdo. And as I said the article doesn't really mention anything new. Did you see all the E3 / Gamescom interviews and the Q&A thread on the forums? There is a crazy amount of information already. Oh, and read the Gameradar preview!
Posted on 3 February, 2010 - 09:36
Thanks, Darth! You always got my back. :) And I beat you to HORSE's thread on the Gamesradar article! :D WOOOO!! :stroggtapir:
Posted on 3 February, 2010 - 10:05
It is? I don't remember it being mentioned. The only advantage I knew of was that manual jumping / sliding / vaulting can be slightly faster.
Depending on which hand you're using you can shoot while smarting. So a quick one-handed hop allows you to shoot but a two hand grab on a higher ledge doesn't.
Posted on 3 February, 2010 - 12:40